This Totally Real Conversation

I am absolutely not making this up. I stopped for coffee at the Pilot on Centennial just now. Just making small talk, I said hello to this old man on the way in, and he said hello back. I got my coffee. On the way back out, he was scratching off a lotto ticket. The following conversation ensued:

Me: Didja win?
Old man: Naw. Broke my false teeth.
Me: Huh?
Old man: Fell off the damn counter while I was in the shower. Broke. Now I have to gum food all weekend.
Me: Bummer.

That’ll teach me to be friendly to old people. I guess at some point you lose the filter that tells you what constitutes appropriate convenience store small talk.

Standard

Leave a Reply

